General Objective

General objective

VA Interreg Program Romania-Bulgaria is a EU funded program (European Regional Development Fund -FEDR).

The program aims to develop the border area between the two countries by funding joint projects.

The total budget of the program is EUR 258 ​​504 126 (of which 215 745 513 EUR - ERDF).

Projects are funded as follows: 85% from ERDF, 13% of the national contribution (Romania and Bulgaria) and 2% own contribution.
They were allocated into 6 fields (primary axis):

1. A well connected region (96,450,936 euros)
2. A green region (63,454,564 euro)
3. A safe region (48,225,468 euros)
4. A qualified and inclusive region (17,767,279 euros)
5. An effective region (12,690,913 euros)
6. technical assistance (19,914,966 euros)



Interreg main objective of cohesion policy aims to promote harmonious development of economic, social and territorial cohesion of the European Union as a whole. Interreg is built around three directions of cooperation: cross (Interreg A), trans (Interreg B) and regional (INTERREG C).

European cross-border cooperation, known as INTERREG and supporting cooperation between regions NUTS III of at least two different Member States, regions that are located on or near the borders of these countries. It aims to tackle common challenges identified in the border region and to develop untapped growth potential in border areas, while enhancing the cooperation process for the harmonious development of the European Union.

ERDF aims to strengthen economic and social cohesion within the European Union by correcting imbalances between its regions and focuses its investments on several key priority areas, known as "thematic focus: Innovation and Research, the digital agenda, support for SMEs (SMEs), economy with low carbon.
the programs of European territorial cooperation, at least 80% of funds will focus on four priority areas mentioned above.
European Commission decision approving the program is available here .
program and annexes are available here .
For details about funding opportunities, visit the Call for Proposals .


Eligible area:
Romania-seven counties: Mehedinti, Dolj, Olt, Teleorman, Giurgiu, Calarasi, Constanta;
Bulgaria-eight districts: Vidin, Vratsa, Montana, Pleven, Veliko Tarnovo, Ruse, Silistra, Dobrich